Back to basics or good ideas?


We are supposedly in a recession, with retail businesses in particular finding times very tough indeed. This week I have experienced two very different retailers either going back to basics from long ago, or trying a bit of intuition.

Here’s what happened.

loaf-of-breadI have a food allergy and can’t tolerate gluten. My local gluten free store is a boutique store and therefore not the cheapest place to buy my special bread and cereal from, which incidentally is available from some of the larger supermarkets. I received a text from Heather the store owner, simply saying she was placing a bread order into my favourite supplier and did I want to add to it? Nice touch, I thought, she knows the bread I like and took the trouble to contact me. Now, I could have gone to the supermarket when I ran out, but as it happened I placed an order with Heather @ N’tolerance. A couple of days later, I received another text to tell me my bread had arrived. Because of the fact she originally contacted me for a bread order, when it came time to pick my bread up, I spent another $40 on other things as well. A win win situation for us both.

A larger retailer this week actually carried my purchases out to my car for me, even though I could have managed. Thanks RD1 in Pukekohe. Just like the good old days. Another nice touch.

With the market place as it is at the moment, businesses must seize every opportunity to stand out and be memorable to their customers.

It will keep us loyal to you. The question is, what can you do?

Linda

This entry was posted in General, Keeping Customers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to basics or good ideas?

  1. Brangus Weir says:

    During this past Christmas season, NPR’s All Things Considered aired a show about tipping habits.

    I found it astonishing that many of the tip earners, from pizza delivery guys to doormen at hotels were very upset at the less than 20% tips they recieved, and that many had adopted the attiude that if you can’t tip at that high level, you should probably not ask them to perform any duties for you.

    This is tight market place, and as consumers, we should not be discouraged to spend because you can’t shoulder the burden of employers who are simply paying market rates for their labor.

    I’ve cut back my tipping to 10% in protest, (from the 15% I thought was acceptable) it’s time return things to normalcy. If a tip earner believes that they can do better with their skill set in another position, then they should move!

    We all have to suck it up and work harder. I provide for a family of eight children, and I’m sorry if I’ve decided to use take out at the chinese restaurant so I don’t have to pay tips, but hell… I’m losing my programming job on the 17th of April too, so I’m looking for new things.

    Your post here is very encouraging, we just all have to learn to serve each other more.

    And let’s get back to 10% tips again! When there is a dearth of servers in restaurants, wages will go up and things can get back to a more normal arriagnment.

Leave a Reply

