3000 comments on a LinkedIn status update? What?


Yesterday, I was scanning my LinkedIn home page news feed, which very much like what you would find on Facebook, a run down of what is happening in my connections lives. There were the usual interesting articles, tweets and comments, but then one update really stuck out and made me look twice.

It was from someone I wasn’t even directly connected with, so what was it doing on my home page? Let me explain.

If one of my connections is connected to someone else, that makes them my 2nd degree connection. If they click the “like” link of the status update, as I am already connected to the person that clicked “like”, it shows up in my news feed as it has become a part of their activity. It works in exactly the same way as it does with Facebook.

Now you may already know that by clicking “like’ it shows up as activity, but what really caught my eye was the amount of both “likes” and comments this particular update had. 3000 comments, and 11,000 likes!

So what was the status update all about that generated such a flurry, what was the post?

It simply said he (Bob) was having a disagreement with a work colleague about the value of LinkedIn and he bet him that for every “like” or for each of the comments he received; he should be paid $1. Just a simple experiment and a bit of fun. Take a look at the comments list in the image below.

How many comments? Phew!

What is interesting is that Bob only has about 480 connections, so by all of the other people in Bob’s network, his 2nd or even 3rd degree connections clicking “like” and adding a comment, that is how he has amassed the massive number.

What is also really interesting is the amount of exposure Bob and his profile (and ultimately his business) has had by so many people helping share it. How do you put a value on that? Priceless.

 

What a great example of how to use your LinkedIn network to gain both exposure and new business connections, even if it was by accident. Get clicking that “like” button and share, share, share!

This entry was posted in Getting Customers, Social Media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 3000 comments on a LinkedIn status update? What?

  1. The essence of social media. Yeah, this is all about. I bet that the bet wasn’t true though. Couple of years ago when Facebook wasn’t so popular an Englishman did the million dollar homepage. http://milliondollarhomepage.com/ The idea was about the same and one million dollar revenue was produced in 7 months I think.

  2. Hi Peter,
    From chatting to Bob since, he is totally overwhelmed with what happened, so I think he is real 🙂
    Linda

  3. Doug Hanna says:

    Thanks for the thought provoking article which shows the power of on-line networking and how it can go viral. I also didn’t appreciate the true effectiveness of “Likes” on LinkedIn until I read this – so thanks for that!

  4. Hi Linda,

    Another great newsletter thanks and I saw Bob’s update on Linkedin and had liked it. I thought it would serve his poor friend right:)

    Looking forward to your book.!
    Justine

Leave a Reply

